Say my name…

my name is
Chicken, Chicken Pie, Pooch, Poochie, Sweetie, SweetPea, Sweet Peanut, Babba, Babbity, Jabsy, Little Jabs, Little girl, Mamma’s Baby, Princess, Chicky, Chick Pea, Chickadee, Mrs Piggins, Angel, Angel Face, Chubs, Chubby Chops, GooGooBear, Dolly…
My husband and I spent 8 long months arguing, negotiating and selling names to each other to find the perfect one and now she’s here we both call her anything but Serena.
I didn’t think this was a big issue until two things happened. The first was that my cousin recounted conversation she’d had with her 2 year old son:
My cousin: George, do you know what your middle name is?
George: …Porgie?
My cousin: No….what do we say after we say your name?
George: …Pudding and pie?

The second was that I babysat for a cute little dude who is just 3 days older than Serena. I wanted to make them both smile for a picture so I said
“Hey babies!”
“Hey sweeties!”
Then I tried “Samuel!” and he turned to me immediately.
Time to start calling my daughter Serena before she starts school and tells the teacher her name is GooGooBear…
What do you think?

