Pea, pear, potato…proccoli?

We’re about two months into weaning now, on three meals a day, and boy don’t I know it if any of those meals are late! I’m starting to become organised enough to have a stash of homemade purees in the fridge and freezer (which reminds me that I need to get some out to defrost for tomorrow!) so now comes the next challenge: Variety.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been cooking up lots of different things so far, but he’s mostly had them on their own or mixed with baby rice. I’m sure we’ll both get bored if I carry on down that road so I’ve started combining foods. This opens up a whole new world of possibilities since you can add flavours that you wouldn’t necessarily eat on their own (call me crazy but a whole pot of pureed sweetcorn just doesn’t appeal to me…and imagine the nappies). Yesterday sweet potato, sweetcorn and red pepper went down a treat. Today’s dinner was as follows:

1 part pear puree
2 parts pea puree
2 parts mashed potato
1 part proccoli (ok, broccoli) puree

All that blitzed together gives you something that looks like this:

I thought it was really tasty and a so did little Jim.
James’ verdict: 8/10 yummy!

Now to work out his meals for tomorrow!

 

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

© gorillamums 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of any material or media (including images) without express and written permission from this blog’s authors and/or owners is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to gorillamums with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
One thought on “Pea, pear, potato…proccoli?

What do you think?

