Give me the food

At the start I tried a few different approaches to weaning. I was quite keen on baby-led as the reasoning makes a lot of sense to me, ie they explore the food more, eat as much as they like, you can give them some of what you’re eating, not to mention how cute it looks when they’re holding a baton of food and gumming it to pieces!

But as it turns out James is a fan of purees. He likes eating quickly, he likes a bowlful of delicious goop and he likes being spoon fed. I really enjoy it too! It’s a lovely next step in our relationship – I trust him to tell me when he’s ready for the next mouthful and when he’s done, and he trusts me to make sure he gets regular meals, interesting food, and to listen to him when he’s full or wants more. It helps a lot that he likes food so much. In fact he eats a bit like Pacman.

image

(Ok, maybe not quite that quickly but you get the idea.)

Boy does he eat a lot too. At the start we were on those tiny little pots that are no more than a few spoonfuls, then seemingly overnight he wanted loads to eat! (It caught me completely by surprise, to the point where he ate some of another baby’s food when we were out one day because I hadn’t brought enough!) In response, this is what I do every week:
image

Most of them are straight veg or fruit that I then combine at mealtime, sometimes with some baby rice or porridge. (This usually involves me staring gormlessly at the fridge and trying to remember what he ate the day before!)

I’d like to say I enjoy every second of preparing his meals but that wouldn’t be true. It’s time consuming and fiddly. Oh to think back to the days when a bit of boob every few hours would suffice!

Haha, give it a few months and no doubt I’ll be looking back on all these purees with rose-tinted spectacles too…

2 thoughts on “Give me the food

  1. I always hated the days of puree foods as well! It was fun for about a week and then the excitement wore off, especially when you have to bring the baby food along with you everywhere. Solely breastfeeding is so much easier! Before you know it he will be feeding himself the big stuff though and then you will cry over how big your little guy has become; at least that is what I seem to do every new milestone! 🙂

    Like

    • I think I’ll do exactly the same! I think one day I’ll stop and suddenly realise that he’s growing up. Like how ever since he was a month old I’ve thought he was really big, but looking back at photos (even from a month ago) I realise how little he was…and still is!

      Like

What do you think?

